Hirono, Hanabusa, Caldwell win - Ka Leo O Hawaii: NEWS

Hirono, Hanabusa, Caldwell win

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, November 6, 2012 9:00 pm

UPDATE @ 10:01 p.m.

Nearly all the results are in and it seems the races have been decided. Mazie Hirono will join Sen. Daniel Inouye in the Senate next year, and Colleen Hanabusa will return to the House of Representatives alongside newcomer Tulsi Gabbard. Closer to home, Kirk Caldwell will be the new mayor of Honolulu County.

After the third printout, Hirono led decisively with 261,025 votes (62.66 percent) to Lingle's 155,565 votes (37.34 percent). 

Hanabusa won by a narrower but still decisive margin: She took 110,513 votes (54.59 percent) to Djou's 91,939 (45.41 percent).

Caldwell and Cayetano fared similarly. Caldwell took 151,015 votes (53.95 percent) to 128,895 votes (46.05 percent) for Cayetano.

Gabbard continued her domination of Crowley with a strong 166,300 votes (80.58 percent) to 40,086 votes (19.42 percent).

Other results of note: Keith Kaneshiro will continue on as city prosecutor, having taken 150,286 votes (58.86 percent). 


UPDATE @ 9:39 p.m.

The second printout of the night shows little change in the trajectory of Election 2012. Hirono, Hanabusa and Caldwell all lead in their races.

Hirono has improved her lead to 171,320 votes (63.96 percent) over Lingle, who has 96,529 votes (36.04 percent). It looks as if mainland outlets were not premature in declaring the representative's victory in this Senate race.

Hanabusa holds solid at 72,092 votes (55.56 percent), while Djou has 57,657 votes (44.44 percent). Hanabusa will likely keep her seat.

Caldwell holds 91,546 vote (54.35 percent) lead over Cayetano with 76,907 votes (45.65 percent) in the hotly contested mayoral race.

Gabbard continues her landslide over Crowley, holding 109,023 votes (81.68 percent) to 24,448 votes (18.32 percent).



Reps. Mazie Hirono and Colleen Hanabusa, as well as mayoral candidate Kirk Caldwell, all lead their races in the first printout of the 2012 election.

Hirono leads 104,072 votes to former Gov. Linda Lingle’s 58,807 in the race for Sen. Daniel Akaka’s Senate seat.

Hanabusa has 44,427 votes to former Rep. Charles Djou’s 34,527 votes in her bid for re-election to her House of Representatives seat.

Locally, Caldwell bests former Gov. Benjamin Cayetano with 57,063 votes to 47,418 votes.

Tulsi Gabbard is trouncing her competition of Kawika Crowley with 66,388 votes to 15,033.

In the race for Honolulu prosecutor, incumbent Keith Kaneshiro bests Kevin Takata. 

Follow us on Twitter